Three additions to GEMS

The Georgia Main Street program announced Cartersville, Monroe and Athens will be added to the list of cities that hold the designation of a Georgia Exceptional Main Street (GEMS) community.

The staff of the Office of Downtown Development with the Georgia Department of Community Affairs attended the recent council meetings of each city to relay the mission of the Georgia Main Street program and the significance of the GEMS recognition.

GEMS cities represent some of the best Main Street Programs offered by the state. These Main Streets “have gone above and beyond expectations by making a strong and positive impact in their communities while utilizing the Main Street Approach,” according to Jessica Reynolds, the director of the Office of Downtown Development. Reynolds congratulated Cartersville, Monroe and Athens on their “commitment to excellence and stable leadership” that led to this designation. Over the past three years, each community has seen millions of dollars in private and public investment, with an emphasis on new businesses and job creation.

The additional GEMS communities are Acworth, Bainbridge, Brunswick, Columbus, Dahlonega, Dublin, Greensboro, Madison, Milledgeville, Moultrie, Newnan, Rome, Statesboro, Thomasville, Tifton, Toccoa and Valdosta.