Two Additions to GEMS

The Georgia Main Street program announced Acworth and Dublin are newly designated Georgia Exceptional Main Street communities (GEMS), joining only 15 other communities across the state that hold this accolade.

The staff of the Office of Downtown Development with the Georgia Department of Community Affairs attended the December council meetings of each city to relay the mission of the Georgia Main Street program and the significance of the GEMS recognition.

GEMS represent some of the best Main Street Programs offered by the state. These Main Streets “have gone above and beyond expectations by making a strong and positive impact in their communities,” according to Jessica Reynolds, the director of the Office of Downtown Development. Reynolds congratulated each community on the “commitment to excellence and stable leadership” that led to this designation. Over the past three years, each downtown has seen millions of dollars in private and public investment, with an emphasis on historic preservation, business development, and job creation.

The additional GEMS communities are Bainbridge, Brunswick, Columbus, Dahlonega, Greensboro, Madison, Milledgeville, Moultrie, Newnan, Rome, Statesboro, Thomasville, Tifton, Toccoa and Valdosta.